Ekphrastic Poetry Reading

Friday night, I had the privilege of sharing five poems with a wonderful group of people at the Duet Gallery in St.Louis. My friend and I have worked to set up a poetry event at Duet for some time and it wasn’t till after Christmas that we finally got a date set, January 31st. The night consisted of incredible abstract pieces of art surrounding the guests in the gallery, free beverages, and poems read by me and two other poets.

It was my first time reading my work in front of so many listening ears and I have to admit that I was a bit nervous. Everyone writes, perceives, and judges the thoughts and ideas in poetry very differently. It was my hope that I could express myself clearly and that nobody listening noticed my constant slight bodily shake of fear while I was reading.

If you didn’t know, Ekphrastic poetry is simply poetry written about visual art of any kind. It wasn’t a requirement that each poem had to be about the art in the Duet Gallery, just that each poet brought a few pieces representing Ekphrastic writing.

Ultimately, it was an amazing experience and I hope to get the opportunity again very soon. If you are interested in seeing what the Duet Gallery has to offer, the current exhibition will be there till February 15, 2014 and the new one will start March 15, 2014. It will consist of art by Yamini Nayar and Jerry Monteith.

I hope you enjoy this short video of me reading my poems from Friday night. My fiancé Mike Martin is due credit for video tapping: 

Thank you for reading/watching,

rosalieirene

3 thoughts on “Ekphrastic Poetry Reading

Leave a Reply

