Frozen Movie Review

Let me preface this blog post by saying that I am such a sucker for Disney movies of any kind. I love them and not only do most of them have the cutest story lines, but also wonderful songs. I may have a YouTube playlist with songs like “Reflection” – from Mulan, “Colors of the Wind” – from Pocahontas and “Make a Man Out of You” – also from Mulan. It is no stretch to say that I had high hopes for Frozen considering the kind of devoted Disney fan I am. Well, they did not disappoint.

First, some summary.
The movie follows two princesses struggling with their notions of love, power, and their place in the world. Both women must face their own self conflicts and downfalls as they fall apart and come together again. Along the way, we meet a few men who aren’t always as they may seem and the coolest “haha” snow man not to mention a wise “talking” Reindeer.

Photo Credit: Katarina 2353 via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: Katarina 2353 via Compfight cc

Also:
If you are as interested in the songs as I am, there are a variety of “stick in your head” kind of tunes, but in my opinion one sticks out among them all. The older princess named Elsa belts out a song called “Let it Go” that will chill you to the bone. I have sung it everyday all day for the past week! Oh, did I not mention that the person who sings it is none other than Idina Menzel, the woman who played Elphaba in the Broadway play Wicked. If you don’t know what I am talking about then you defiantly need to go check that out as well as Frozen

Side note:
I enjoy a good Disney love story as much as the next person, but I get tired of the typical princess narrative where she meets her prince charming, falls in love and rides off into the sunset. I highly enjoyed the way this movie not only put into question that stereotypical story line and expectation but also left these women’s lives to be made by their own doing and not be created for, saved by, and destined to be subject to a man’s world. They create their own. I like to hold onto things like this that give me hope in our society’s ability to go in what I perceive as the right direction when it comes to women’s equality. I know, that just got deep real quick.

All and all, this is a movie I will be watching again and again. I hope you enjoy!

Thanks for reading,

rosalieirene

Leave a Reply

